You can be a firefighter with Crohns Disease or Ulcerative Colitis. When we arrived on scene everyone immediately got to work. Thanks for reading this blog post. When a team of fire fighters responds to a call, there is usually a dangerous situation at hand. All other Psychiatric medications are Category B and wont keep you from becoming a firefighter unless you are unable to perform the essential job tasks. That creates a distraction and causes me to forgetandkind ofachingthat I might be having from workingand doing everything on the scene I am doing. The proper training and knowledge of autismwill help the fire fighters to deal with the emergency in the most successful way. My name is Danny Jacobs and I'm a Firefighter on Weston-Super-Mare Green Watch. What Kind of License Do You Need to Be a Firefighter. On this post I am going to use a structure fire as a example because there are multiple things that begin to make you body ache or hurt. Thanks for tuning in this week and reading my post. One of the many things that are encountered on the fire ground is stress. Many people with arthritis will still be able to become firefighters, as long as it doesnt affect their ability to safely do the job. However, this does not impact our reviews and comparisons. DeMerceau graduated from Columbia University with a Bachelor of Arts in history. In order for me to avoid mine going off I simply dance around, that makes the alarm on the air bottle I am wearing to believe I am moving. These requirements, which have the effect of excluding many people with epilepsy from serving as a firefighter or LEO, have been adopted by many fire and police departments across the country. You keep your hand on his shoulder so he knows you behind him. The only thing I have found that helps a little is to take a quick pause and take a deep breath and handle it one thing at a time. With the correct information and preparation regarding autism spectrum disorders, these fire fighters will be more equ